top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen Angeles

My Freelancing Journey

Updated: Apr 10, 2021


How It All Started

When the ongoing pandemic took a hit on the global economy and health, my perspective on life suddenly changed. I have realized that life is short, and anything may change in an instant. We often take for granted the most important things in life, our health and family. Hence the dream of spending more time with my loved ones and transitioning to a freelancing career. I began searching for ways on how to develop and leverage my skills for future work-from-home opportunities.




So How Did I Join The Bandwagon?

During the lockdown period, I started watching YouTube videos about freelancing opportunities and ideas on where to start. I watched vlogs of successful freelancers sharing their stories on how they started their own freelancing careers. I also searched for online job communities and groups to join. That's where I discovered the Filipino Virtual Assistance website. It's a freelancing marketplace providing online services, online courses, and freelancing solutions.


FVA Academy offers paid courses for people who wanted to learn new skills or develop the skills that they already have. They encourage their members to discover their passion and turn it into a viable career. On their Facebook page, they feature success stories of virtual assistants who successfully landed their work-from-home jobs after taking their courses. One day, I would be thrilled to be featured there as well.


My First Virtual Assistance Training

After watching numerous videos about which niche to choose and focus on, I have finally decided which course to take. Given the current global situation, e-commerce has become big not just here in the Philippines but across the globe. It's growing at an unprecedented rate as people from every age love to shop from different e-stores.


October 2020, I took FVA's Amazon Course, with much anticipation of becoming a successful e-commerce VA. I have finished the course with a gold certification, and I am now ready to use the knowledge and skills I've learned from the training. If you are also interested in taking this course, you may check the rate and training inclusions here.


There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure - Colin Powell

Keep Learning, Keep Growing, and Keep Going

Aside from Amazon Course, I also enrolled in their Search Engine Optimization In-Depth training, which I'm currently finishing. I believe it would also help me grow as a freelancer, and I'm enjoying all the challenges.


The process of discovering my passion and niche hasn't been easy. I am currently working in a traditional employment setup, and studying at the same time isn't a joke. I have sleepless nights and a little time to rest. I regularly watch videos, read articles, and search the web for additional knowledge. As part of the SEO training, I have learned how to create and design my own website. I'm also learning how to write a blog, and you're now reading my very first!. The journey to my freelancing dream hasn't been easy, but I'm not giving up on it. I would continue developing my skills for professional and personal growth. How about you? What's your work-from-home story?



195 views2 comments
bottom of page